By Fairmont

  • 12 inch LP Limited Edition.
  • Pressed on Black 180 gram vinyl.

200 LP Limited Edition

$25.00 plus Shipping




Until Press

0% complete

Sign up using your Facebook or Gmail account it takes 1 minute

You will only be charged if the goal of 200 records is met

About the Record

The ten-track album was released on 14 October 2008, with Mint 400 Records. It was produced by Bryan Russell. Sabatino began "writing feverishly" for and chose to compose female vocal counterparts in "a Mates of State way." After recalling singing with Teeter Sperber for the track "Lady of Travel and Leisure," he approached Sperber and Suzie Zeldin, who contribute vocals for several tracks. Thematically, the album is about being trapped in bad jobs, dead-end towns, and dreaming of relationships that may never come. In an interview with Deborah Draisin in Jersey Beat, Sabatino says the album is "saying that love prevails," and Sam Carrodori explains that it offers "a small portal to a storybook of the average, everyday person[,] and the power of the songs brings people together and reveals something for everyone."

The album title and lead track are homages to Jean-Paul Sartre's book . The release of was followed by a tour across the United States, supporting Life of Agony frontman Keith Caputo, starting in August 2008.

Reviewer Susan Frances compares to the music of the art rock band Modest Mouse, saying that it "has imaginative turns, emotive lifts, and a folksy rock basting."[5] A review in calls the lead track "Being & Nothingness" a "bouncy, catchy song that will get stuck in your head," further describing the songs as "reminiscent of 60's surf rock [and] slightly rockabilly." The review closes with "the choir-like vocals at the end [of "Melt Your Heart"] will have you waving your hands in the air." The album is ranked No. 52 in by music journalist Gary Wien, who describes as "an indie rock version of ."

About the Artist

Andy Applegate – drums
Christian Kisala – keys and bass synth
Neil Sabatino – lead vocals and guitar

Additional musicians
Clancy Flynn – violin, cello
Teeter Sperber – backing vocals on "Being & Nothingness," "Omaha" and "True Love Waits for Me"
Suzie Zeldin – backing vocals on "Being & Nothingness," "Everyone Hates A Critic," "Please Don't Go" and "Melt Your Heart"
Bryan Russell – additional guitar on "Omaha" and "Luck Will Change"
Charlie Seich – euphonium on "Being & Nothingness"